tots-final

Show copy

1840. A young governess agrees to look after two orphaned children in Bly, a seemingly idyllic country house. But shortly after her arrival, she realises that they are not alone. There are others – the ghosts of Bly’s troubled past. The Governess will risk everything to keep the children safe, even if it means giving herself up to The Others. Years later, confronted by the past she is compelled to account for what actually happened to her and the innocents under her protection.

This new adaptation of Henry James’ iconic tale, which was the original inspiration for Susan Hill’s The Woman in Black, is a masterclass in stage-craft, with captivating performances, deliciously atmospheric set and lighting design and an evocative soundtrack, starring Janet Dibley (Doctors,EastEnders, The Two of Us) and Maggie McCarthy (Dancing on the Edge, Call the Midwife).

Writer Henry James
Adaptor Tim Luscombe
Director Daniel Buckroyd
Designer Sara Perks

Tour schedule

Thursday 28th – Saturday 31st March
Exeter Northcott Theatre

Tuesday 2nd – Saturday 6th April
Anvil Arts

Tuesday 16th – Saturday 20th April
Perth Concert Hall

Tuesday 23rd – Saturday 27th April
Churchill Theatre, Bromley

Tuesday 30th April – Saturday 4th May
CAST Doncaster

Tuesday 7th – Saturday 11th May
Derby Theatre

Tuesday 21st May – Saturday 1st June
York Theatre Royal

Tuesday 4th – Saturday 8th June
Gaiety Theatre Dublin